h1

identity

August 7, 2007

I don’t think I’ll make a real transvestite,
wear my heart in fire-engine heels,
and still walk straight, head high.
No, every morning, before I put on
my acceptable black pumps,
I cup the soles of my feet and
feel the weight of regret at
what I could never be: proud
and comfortable with my identity,
unafraid of being packed away in
the labels that would make
anyone craven, shirking
inside their own closets.


[this was a free write in gotpoetry.com’s tag-team-poem project the first line from lordfuznut]

7 comments

  1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. 😀

    This is a great poem. I know that being a multiple is something that I’m struggling with and not sure how public to be.


  2. We could all learn a bit from this write, namely that to be yourself is the best thing to be. I like it.


  3. Enjoyed this one. My, my, the things poetry makes us do. 🙂


  4. Wow, what a direction you took this work in. From such an auspicious first line even.


  5. This is a brilliant piece of writing.


  6. Rax: How are or did your bar exams go. Just stopped to say hello. I’ve been scarce because of my business demands. Don


  7. Beauty of whatever kind, in its supreme development, invariably excites the sensitive soul to tears. – Edgar Allan Poe



Leave a Reply

  • Time flies

    August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Logbook

  • Cloudbursts

    alcohol carnival dark dream erotic poetry free verse funny general poetry goodbye gotpoetry haiku illusion limerick links long distance love love poetry moon night poetry Poetry Thursday rain romance sad senryu sex sexual poetry short poems spoken word thoughts
