h1

Warmth

May 7, 2007

Tonight I wonder if there
are stars out there
behind a gloomy sky
that stretches toward me
like the distant wail of
a street child seeking
warmth from the night air.

I wait patiently for you,
for your smile to break
through the clouds like
sunbeams streaking
through my skin,
taking away the
chill in my bones.

But for now, I close my eyes,
imagining yours that sparkle
much more than any star,
lighting up at the thought
of me while you cover yourself
with this blanket of words
I am sending you.

6 comments

  1. I love the images in your poems. I have never read a poem that could feel like a blanket before, but this is the kind of poem you could curl up with in an old chair by the fire, and I am absolutely delighted by that.


  2. your writing is really, really lovely.. looking forward to more :)..


  3. oh to be covered in a blanket of words, especially ones so adoring as yours 🙂


  4. sunbeams streaking
    through my skin,

    Love this phrase.

    I linked to you at Poets Who Blog.


  5. thank you everyone for your equally wonderful comments! 🙂


  6. This poem is really beautiful – it lives up to it’s title, it conveys warmth. “Blanket of words” I especially like.

    Thanks Rax for checking out my poems and your kind comments – I appreciate them.



Leave a Reply

  • Time flies

    May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Logbook

  • Cloudbursts

    alcohol carnival dark dream erotic poetry free verse funny general poetry goodbye gotpoetry haiku illusion limerick links long distance love love poetry moon night poetry Poetry Thursday rain romance sad senryu sex sexual poetry short poems spoken word thoughts
