h1

In your shade

May 5, 2007

 

I am a nomad–
running barefoot
on cracked earth,
chased by shadows within shadows
blood seeping across the sky,
harbinger of midnights winds
holding frozen knives at my throat.

You are a tree–
your branches vessels
cupping dreams of me
cradled in your shade,
my final resting place
where I can collapse at your feet,
slowly dying

to be planted by your side.

Rate this Poem @ GotPoetry.com

 

Rax notes:

this was originally entitled Shade of my Heart,
and was inspired by Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series-
specifically the Aiel people and how they consider death
more of a lover or a friend than a feared enemy.

6 comments

  1. Wow, pwede gawan ng mini graphic novel (is there such a thing?)! I like!


  2. ill post the illustration my friend made for this poem


  3. hey.

    thanks for the comment. im very much liking your style of writing myself. might come by more oft. 🙂


  4. Great word pictures and accompanying visual. I enjoy your blog. Thank you for visiting mine and for the link!


  5. Of all Robert Jordan’s characters, I loved the Aiels most. There’s something admirable in their strength and constancy. God, I love your blog. I’m no poet or anything and so for lack of a rhythmical homage, I’ll say this: Your. Blog. Rocks.

    In light of the Aiel reference: Asking you to dance would evoke a different meaning, huh? 😛


  6. pablo: would you like to dance? *twirls spears* lol. thanks for dropping by.



Leave a Reply

  • Time flies

    May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Logbook

  • Cloudbursts

    alcohol carnival dark dream erotic poetry free verse funny general poetry goodbye gotpoetry haiku illusion limerick links long distance love love poetry moon night poetry Poetry Thursday rain romance sad senryu sex sexual poetry short poems spoken word thoughts
