h1

Driver

June 17, 2007

Late afternoons,
it is this time
that I, a woman,
take my turn to ride
my husband’s jeepney.

I hoist myself up
on the driver’s side
then l o w e r my body
onto the seat and
swing my legs
inside.

My husband smiles and says:
“There, it’s your turn.”

I tentatively touch
the l o n g handle
of the gearshift, close my hand
around its head then
gently
coax it in reverse.

Easing the vehicle onto the asphalt
it isn’t long before I am looking at the
long
hard
expanse
of the road ahead.

My shoulders strain my shirt
as my hands and body
completely maneuver
this sardine can on wheels
as it thrusts
through the gas-fumed streets.

At every stop, a passenger
slithers and squeezes
his or her way between
the wet
sleeves and mixed odors
of other passengers.

A man behind me rests his
big
hand on my shoulder:
“para ho”
I grunt and snatch
the change on his palm.

It is not easy to do a man’s job
toward the end of the day
I drop my last passenger off
floor the accelerator,
speed through empty streets so fast
the sweat beads spatter on the windshield.

And despite the aches
a sudden urge wells up
to see my beloved.
I imagine him waiting
for me knowing that
I could never wait

to come to come god!

to c o m e

home.

Rate this Poem @ GotPoetry.com

4 comments

  1. veery nice…


  2. And yet another poem revealing all that passion spilling over as you study for that bar exam.

    Rax, how do I suggest a topic for discussion on GotPoetry? I would like to initiate a forum discussion about spiritual and seers (ancient and modern). This group would discuss the Sufis, Buddhists, Jewish and Christian mystics, and others. Thanks.


  3. Damn, I about popped my clutch halfway thru the poem…


  4. masarap po basahin ~_^



Leave a comment

  • Time flies

    June 2007
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • Logbook

  • Cloudbursts

    alcohol carnival dark dream erotic poetry free verse funny general poetry goodbye gotpoetry haiku illusion limerick links long distance love love poetry moon night poetry Poetry Thursday rain romance sad senryu sex sexual poetry short poems spoken word thoughts